WANTED: planner addict support group.

Image

What? Sunday already? Where does the time go when I’m not watching it? It’s great that I’m not forced to deal with incredibly long shifts that make me want to blow my brains out with an oversized spud gun, but that means it’s time for a ROW80 check in!

Goals are to work on my C:C ratio

Create – before I even open the laptop, I need to write in a journal (creative ideas, finances, life, dreams, ‘to do’ lists… whatever)

Create – Make physical notes from textbooks relevant to current assignment or EMA

Consume – Check emails/social media

Create – Jot down notes and ideas on what to research or expand on for blog post/article and plan for when content is published (the aim: one per week)

Create – Type up hand written notes on creative ideas/pieces and backup

Consume – Use a set chunk of time to do research for a piece through reading or searching for relevant material

Well, I did say that my plans are to work on these goals… it’s most definitely hit and miss. Last minute shift changes means that I actually forgot a lot of the things I meant to do… that’s a really crappy reason, isn’t it?

I have, however, been creating the blog schedule and content posts, so I have a rough idea of where I’m going on this little adventure and how I want to get there. I’m still waiting to hear back from the job I went for though, so not sure how well things are going to work out yet in terms of the plans I want to follow, such as the one-day intensive script writing workshop in March (or the evening class over 6 weeks) which would count as both consuming inspiration and creating my own little projects.

I created space with more de-cluttering, though I’m far from complete yet.

I have created a couple of learning schedules; such as the ones for fitness, education and guitar practice. I think it has to be official by now that I am a planning whore! The first step is to admit you have a problem, right? It’s the execution of said plans that I have an issue with. I’m definitely hedging my bets here by admitting it now, in the hopes of kicking my own arse before I get to a point where it really hinders my progress.

Despite my plan to create more than I consume, I have been reading a lot of script stuff and allowing my mind to wander. I’m starting to think I’ve sat too long in the seat of an amateur, a little bit like clinging to a security blanket. Despite writing on and off for years, the last time I actually submitted anything was a children’s story about 3 years ago. I did the waiting around for months and months, only to get a very polite rejection and, whilst I didn’t hold it against the company I submitted to, I did hold it against myself. I decided I needed to learn more, to practice more, to remain securely attached to the tag of an “amateur writer” or an “aspiring writer” as noone will expect much of me then. I even got to the point where I dodged questions about writing if it’s specifically about what I write… and yet I love encouraging others to create! How can I do that? How can I expect others to feel confident creating, if I’m not?

My friend (Chris.R.) sent me a link to a comic strip about running by The Oatmeal. I wasn’t quite sure why at first, until I read it. I’m being pursued rather persistently by The Blerch! I consume, I laze, I avoid doing what needs to be done… I believe in The Blerch!

Which has led me to make a decision. I know I’m not a pro, and I know I have a lot of work to do, but I am now on the hunt for a place to target – to pick some place to write a script for (and submit) within a specific time frame. I’m currently thinking BBC’s Writers Room as I know there are occasionally contests that provide feedback. My plan is to pick something to work with and do the best with it now, so I have something to then come back to after the workshop in March. It’s not really like I’m going in blind as I do have some ideas I’ve been outlining, I’m just not sure whether they’d fit the submission criteria (which is what I need to look into). I’m also considering article writing as a way of regularly working on content I can submit, though this is in the formative stages so I’m not entirely sure what direction I want to take with this yet. I tried the short story route, but what I enjoyed writing wasn’t really all fluffy and light like many of the places seemed to want. They were pretty dark and somewhat unsettling, in some respects. Often around mental health and abuse (I worked in mental health, so I was using it as a form of catharsis). Any other suggestions or advice?

I hope everyone else’s goals are going really well!

Blog hop to other ROWers here!

Regards,

Callie.

4 thoughts on “WANTED: planner addict support group.

  1. Callie, I’m not sure what kinds of scripts you’re writing, but many times libraries or schools are looking for kid-friendly plays that they can produce. If this suits your writing style, you might reach out to some organizations in your area and see if they’re interested. It’s a way to have an impact on your local community and get a foot in the door. I have a friend who has done something similar, so if you’re interested, I can ask her for some resources to get you started.

    Like you, I’m a big planner. I love writing lists (I literally just blogged about this last week!) and scoping out potential solutions. But I find I need to create measurable goals and self-imposed deadlines so I don’t get too lost in my own thoughts. Even if my goal is as simple as writing 500 words/day, it still helps me stay grounded and forces me to act instead of over-think.

    I hope you have a great week! 🙂

    • Thank you for the response, Denise. I had no idea schools take new scripts. I’ve only ever known them to use the same ones, over and over… I’ll certainly mull that one over, thank you! Any further information is very much appreciated.

      I generally work really well to deadlines, it just seems that ones I set for myself don’t work out so well. I’m tackling that one though. I think finding somewhere to target might really help there.

      I hope you have a great week also 😀

  2. Glad to see that you are going to start trying to put your work out there again. If you have a piece that’s ready to go, do research into competitions and anything else you can send it to.
    And then keep writing the next thing!
    Good luck.

Leave a Reply

