Forging friendships and learning: help me pitch?

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/02/15/prompt-money-for-nothing/ – Thinking about my “dream job”…

Over the last couple of weeks I’ve been working on what it is I want to achieve in my life – where I see it going. The main visions I have revolve around having a creative input by developing content people connect with, such as scripts or novels. I also want to be involved in the community through providing free workshops and learning experiences, especially for adults who are otherwise unable to access opportunities to develop new skills, in person. I know there is so much information available on the internet, to which I’m very grateful, but I feel our society would benefit from workshops in person where groups can share their  knowledge, experience and form networks within their own community. Workshops that are essentially dictated by the needs of the community but could be anything from learning how to use Microsoft packages, to dress making, drama, art, basic car maintenance, idea development, project management… and so on.

I believe this as I’m repeatedly looking for groups where I can meet people, learn and share but rarely find them within my price range.

What I’ve been trying to do is create a sustainable business model or plan, both for my brand ‘Callie Weylin’ (the writer) and for the bigger project of bringing individuals together to forge a community of learners. I’m actually reaching out to you guys as I’m currently trying to develop a 90-second pitch for a scholarship to B-school. I don’t have any fancy technology and I’ll be filming it on my mobile phone. I’m not even entirely sure how to even edit and upload a video to youtube since I haven’t had experience doing so (something else to add to the list of free workshops?).

What I’d like to know is, do you have any tips on developing this video pitch as I only have a few days to do it? Any advice is welcome on how to edit a video which will be shot on a Samsung Galaxy S3 and my laptop which is Windows 8 (which I’m no good with – it hates me).

I’ll be keeping the visual fairly simple since I’m not at the point of being able to experiment too much.

In the event of not being fortunate enough to obtain a B-school scholarship (I can’t afford to pay the subscription this year), do you have any advice or links to resources for business/charity development including website design, marketing and creating an income that ensures the business/charity continues to grow?

Thank you for your time in reading this!

Regards,

Callie.

16 thoughts on “Forging friendships and learning: help me pitch?

  1. Pingback: Dreamy job! Daily Prompt | alienorajt

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Money for Nothing | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Rabbiting on: Marzipan Three | alienorajt

  4. Pingback: Daily prompt: Work | The Wandering Poet

  5. Pingback: Dreams Do Change | Lisa's Kansa Muse

  6. Pingback: Jobs & Benefits | A mom's blog

  7. Pingback: What Am I Supposed To Do With My Life? | lynnesartandsoul

  8. Pingback: what i do for love | In The Moment

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Money for Nothing | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  10. Pingback: Trip the light fantastic | litadoolan

  11. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “Do Whatever Works For You” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a comment